Critical reflection: pre-chat materials

Just to duplicate documentation, this is the text that was posted at http://critlib.org/critical-reflection-chat/ for the recent #critlib chat on critical reflection.

73rd chat, Monday December 19 2016: critical reflection
11am Pacific / noon Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern / 7pm GMT

Moderated by @lisahubbell
Storify by @lisahubbell

Critical reflection: questions and techniques for writing or group discussion to examine our practices

Critical reflection is an essential tool for raising our awareness of how we put theories into practice, and for conscious improvement on an ongoing basis. It can be done through writing, or out loud with others in “critical friend” relationships. It is used in the Ignatian Catholic practice of examen to look back on each day, and often recommended as a professional development tool for practitioners in education, nursing, organizational development, and other fields.

Discussion questions:

  • Q1. How/when do you build in time to reflect on your own work/praxis? Frequently, sporadically, in certain settings/circumstances? #critlib
  • Q2. Have you found any tools, practices, habits that spur such reflection for you? Is your approach more structured or free-form? #critlib
  • Q3. Do you examine your work, strivings, failures in light of specific theories, models, questions? How do you engage with them? #critlib
  • Q4. What challenges or obstacles do you encounter in using critical reflection in practice? How do you overcome them? #critlib
  • Q5. Does reflection propel you to shift your thinking, to take action? By itself, or combined with other input? If not, what does? #critlib

Definitions:

Suggested readings:

Sample questions for reflective writing:

The readings below offer a range of sample questions for reflection. You may want to try using some of these before the chat. If you’re inspired to blog about your experience with critical reflection as a practice, feel free. You may also want to keep your writing or sharing private, and vent to your heart’s content.

Suggestions for further reading will be sent out with Storify after the chat.

Advertisements

One response to “Critical reflection: pre-chat materials

  1. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon
    your weblog and in accession capital to say that I acquire in fact enjoyed account
    your weblog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing in your
    augment or even I achievement you get right of entry to constantly fast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s